Banner

About the Senate

The Student Senate came about in the spring semester of 2002 with the ratifying of its Constitution. On May 3, 2002 the first Student Senate meeting was held in the Office of Student Life. Today, the Student Senate assembles for regular sessions on a biweekly basis and for emergency sessions as necessary.

The Student Senate is the main avenue of governance for the students. The Student Senate deals with pertinent issues that affect the day-to-day lives of students at The University of Scranton. The Senate is chaired by the Vice-President of Student Government who votes only in the case of a tie. The other Executive members of Student Government are the President, a non-voting member with veto authority, as well as the Secretary, Treasurer, Director of Communication, and Director of Technology, all of whom are non-voting members. The body of the Student Senate is made up of four representatives from each class, two commuter representatives, two off-campus representatives, three resident representatives, and one international representative for a total of 24 members.

There are five standing committees formed out of the Senate: Academic and Scholastic Affairs, Appropriations, Athletics and Programming, Campus Life and Dining Services, Safety, Justice, and Service. Proposed legislation is sent to the appropriate committee for research and development at the discretion of the Chair. The Executive Treasurer advises the Appropriations Committee. A Senator is appointed by the Executive Council to chair each of the committees.

Senators

Class of 2019

Sarah Laga

Email: sarah.laga@scranton.edu
Committee: Acaedmic and Scholastic Affairs
Major:International Studies
Minor:Philosophy

Robert McGowan

Email: robert.mcgowan@scranton.edu
Committee: Acaedmic and Scholastic Affairs(Chair)
Major: Psychology, Philosophy
Minor: Criminology

Michael Pellegrino

Email: michael.pellegrino@scranton.edu
Committee: Athletics and Programming
Major: Business Administration
Minor: Finance

Class of 2020

Kimberly Baxter

Email: kimberly.baxter@scranton.edu
Committee:   Campus Life and Dining(Chair)
Major:Political Science, Criminal Justice
Minor:Spanish

Zoë Haggerty

Email: zoe.haggerty@scranton.edu
Committee: Safety Justice Service
Major:BCMB, Philosophy

Brian Kilner

Email: brian.kilner@scranton.edu
Committee: Safety, Justice, and Service (Co-Chair)
Major: Environmental Science, Biochemistry, Philosophy

Claire Jarvis

Email:claire.jarvis@scranton.edu
Committee: Safety Justice Service
Major:Occupational Therapy

Class of 2021

Jeff Colucci

Email: jeffrey.colucci@scranton.edu
Committee: Appropriations and Student Life(Chair)
Major: Accounting
Minor: Finance

Julia Hack

Email: julia.hack@scranton.edu
Committee: Athletics and Programming
Major: International Studies

Rachael Gallagher

Email: rachael.gallagher@scranton.edu
Committee: Campus Life and Dining
Major:Occupational Therapy

Keny Melgar

Email: keny.melgar@scranton.edu
Committee: Safety, Justice, and Service
Major: Computer Science

Class of 2022

Destiny R. Carpitella

Email: destiny.carpitella@scranton.edu
Committee:  Campus Life and Dining
Major:Computer Engineering

Joseph T. Fullam

Email: joseph.fullam@scranton.edu
Committee: Appropriations and Student Life
Major: Buisness Undecided

John M. Malay III

Email: john.malay@scranton.edu
Committee: Appropriations and Student Life
Major:Biophysics

James Peracchio

Email: james.peracchio@scranton.edu
Committee:  Campus Life and Dining
Major: Accounting and Finance

Resident

Katelyn Langford

Email: katelyn.langford@scranton.edu
Committee:Athletics and Programming
Major: Biology, Philosophy

Jacob Myers

Email: jacob.myers@scranton.edu
Committee: Acaedmic and Scholastic Affairs
Major:Biochemistry, Cell and Molecular Biology

Casey Welby

Email: casey.welby@scranton.edu
Committee: Appropriations and Student Life
Major: Classical Language, History

Commuter

Enis Murtaj

Email: enis.murtaj@scranton.edu
Committee: Appropriations and Student Life(Deputy Chair)
Major: Accounting

Peter Zabiegala

Email: peter.zabiegala@scranton.edu
Committee: Acaedmic and Scholastic Affairs
Major: Economics, International Business

Off Campus

Maria Deiser

Email:maria.deiser@scranton.edu
Committee: Athletics and Programming
Major: Finance

Sela Fine

Email:sela.fine@scranton.edu
Committee:Athletics and Programming
Major: Biology, Philosphy
Minor: Music History, Biochemistry

International

Glenn Brannelly

Email: glenn.brannelly@scranton.edu
Committee: Safety, Justice, and Service
Major:Computer Science