Banner

About the Senate

The Student Senate came about in the spring semester of 2002 with the ratifying of its Constitution. On May 3, 2002 the first Student Senate meeting was held in the Office of Student Life. Today, the Student Senate assembles for regular sessions on a biweekly basis and for emergency sessions as necessary.

The Student Senate is the main avenue of governance for the students. The Student Senate deals with pertinent issues that affect the day-to-day lives of students at The University of Scranton. The Senate is chaired by the Vice-President of Student Government who votes only in the case of a tie. The other Executive members of Student Government are the President, a non-voting member with veto authority, as well as the Secretary, Treasurer, Director of Communication, and Director of Technology, all of whom are non-voting members. The body of the Student Senate is made up of four representatives from each class, two commuter representatives, two off-campus representatives, three resident representatives, and one international representative for a total of 24 members.

There are five standing committees formed out of the Senate: Academic and Scholastic Affairs, Appropriations, Athletics and Programming, Campus Life and Dining Services, Safety, Justice, and Service. Proposed legislation is sent to the appropriate committee for research and development at the discretion of the Chair. The Executive Treasurer advises the Appropriations Committee. A Senator is appointed by the Executive Council to chair each of the committees.

Senators

Class of 2018

Seth Bower

Email: seth.bower@scranton.edu
Committee: Athletics and Programming
Major: Political Science
Minor:Criminal Justice

Noel Saharig

Email: noel.saharig@scranton.edu
Committee: Academic and Scholastic Affairs
Major: Chemistry, Biophysics
Minor:Philosophy, Mathematics

Noni Murithi

Email: noni.murithi@scranton.edu
Committee: Athletics and Programming (Co-Chair)
Major: International Business, Political Science
Minor: French

John DiGirolamo

Email: john.digirolamo@scranton.edu
Committee: Campus Life and Dining Services
Major: Criminal Justice
Minor: Philosophy

Class of 2019

Matthew Coughlin

Email: matthew.coughlin2@scranton.edu
Committee:  Appropriations (Chair)
Major: Political Science, Philosophy

Madalyne Sunday

Email: madalyne.sunday@scranton.edu
Committee: Academic and Scholastic Affairs
Major:Biology

Nhu Nguyen

Email:nhu.nguyen@scranton.edu
Committee: Academic and Scholastic Affairs
Major: International Business, Accounting
Minor: Finance, Chinese, Business Leadership

Kimberly Barr

Email:kimberly.Barr@scranton.edu
Committee: Athletics and Programming
Major: Biology, Philosophy
Minor: Biochemistry

Class of 2020

Zoë Haggerty

Email: zoe.haggerty@scranton.edu
Committee: Safety, Justice, and Service
Major: Biochemistry, Cell and Molecular Biology, Philosophy

Kimberly Baxter

Email: kimberly.baxter@scranton.edu
Committee: Campus Life and Dining Services
Major: Political Science and Criminal Justice
Minor: Spanish

Fahad Ashraf

Email: fahad.ashraf@scranton.edu
Committee: Academic and Scholastic Affairs (Chair)
Major: Biology, Philosophy

Brian Kilner

Email: brian.kilner@scranton.edu
Committee: Safety, Justice, and Service (Chair)
Major: Environmental Science, Biochemistry, Philosophy

Class of 2021

Alexander Badiu

Email: alexander.badiu@scranton.edu
Committee: Campus Life and Dining Services
Major:Neuroscience

Jeff Colucci

Email: jeffery.colucci@scranton.edu
Committee: Appropriations 
Major: Accounting
Minor: Finance

Michael Diehl

Email: michael.diehl@scranton.edu
Committee: Campus Life and Dining Services
Major: Forensic Accounting

Alex DeRosa

Email: alex.derosa@scranton.edu
Committee: Appropriations
Major:Business Undecided

Resident

Colleen Rohr

Email: colleen.rohr@scranton.edu
Committee:Academic and Scholastic Affairs
Major: Marketing, Philosophy
Minor:Business Analytics

Paige Nonnenmacher

Email: paige.nonnenmacher@scranton.edu
Committee: Campus Life and Dining Services (Chair)
Major: Exercise Science, concentration in Nutrition
Minor:Psychology

Charles Heinze

Email: charles.heinze@scranton.edu
Committee: Safety, Justice, and Service
Major: Computer Science

Commuter

Enis Murtaj

Email: enis.murtaj@scranton.edu
Committee: Athletics and Programming
Major: Accounting

Peter Zabiegala

Email: peter.zabiegala@scranton.edu
Committee: Appropriations
Major: Economics, International Business

Off Campus

Michaelangelo Messina

Email:michaelangelo.messina@scranton.edu
Committee: Athletics and Programming (Co-chair)
Major: Healthcare Administration

Sarah Novak

Email:sarah.novak@scranton.edu
Committee: Appropriations
Major: Healthcare Administration
Minor: Business, Accounting

International

Richard Abril

Email: richard.abril@scranton.edu
Committee: Safety, Justice, and Service
Major:Economics